I can't use Flow variables as Credentials in Get Request nodes

Hi, I’m fairly new to Knime and I might have missed something obvious, but I can’t make an API Get Request with “dynamic” credentials.

I tried to use Flow variables, Flow variables to Credentials and NTLM credentials (as stated here : GET Request Authentication Credential Weirdness ) without any success.

And I don’t want to use Workflow credentials to set at each startup.

As soon as I remove the Password field from the Basic Authentication view the query fails with an 401 Not Authorized response.

Credentials hard-coded works

Credentials as Flow variable

Credentials as Variable to Credentials

NTLM

don’t works

Can anyone help me or tell me if this is a bug please ?

Thanks in advance

Bonus question : Can I use a variable (as soon as it works with this setup) in a Header value ?

Knime version : 4.5.0
on Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS

1 Like

Hi @LoicCR and welcome to the Knime Community.

Have you been able to use the API outside of Knime? This is to make sure you are using the API correctly to begin with.

1 Like

Hi, thanks for your answer.
Yes, I can use the API with curl, Postman and from NodeJS, and as stated here I can even use it from Knime with the credentials hard-coded :

I double (and triple) checked my copy/paste of the username and password

Hi @LoicCR , could you show us how you are using it with cURL? What is the command that you are executing?

Hi @LoicCR , sorry I missed the part where you said that it worked in Knime when hardcoded (both in your latest post and in your first post).

The way you defined the variables and using them, it should have worked…

When you set up the Flow Variables in the GET Request node, do you see this message at the bottom?

EDIT: Ahhh, I see what’s the issue… Knime does not allow you to pass flow variables as password:
Attempt to overwrite the password with config key 'password' failed. It's not possible to overwrite passwords with flow variables.”