IRR Calculation with KNIME

Helle everyone,

I try to calculate the IRR of projects with KNIME. I did this manually but it kills much performance.
Do you know an extension, node or workflow to calculate IRRs (similar to IKV formular in Excel).

Thanks a lot.
Tobi

Hello @TobiLanga , and welcome to the KNIME community

What do you mean by manually?

Are you R programmer? as it is an easy task to deploy in R with Scripting nodes.

Otherwise you can make a workflow to iterate over PV as a goal search (this may not be very efficient). But lets see if there arise some more ideas from other KNIME users’ experiences.

Regards

1 Like

Hello @gonhaddock ,

I set up an iterate (see Screenshot). But as you said this is not very efficient.
I have some knowledge in R but very limited (more visualization etc.) and I don’t know how to implement the R script into KNIME. (I know the Node R Snipped and the R function irr(), but now how to implement it into my workflow).

I had hoped that there is some extension or node to calculate this important figure.

Regards

1 Like

Hello @TobiLanga,

and welcome to KNIME Community!

Same was discussed here so take a look:

Br,
Ivan

1 Like

Thanks. I found it but I hoped that maybe during the last year a node for this was implemented :slight_smile:
Thanks for the help!

I see. No, there wasn’t. At least not that I’m aware of it.
Ivan

Hello @TobiLanga

I asked you about R programming to guess about if you have the R CRAN already installed… don’t forget to install “jrvFinance” R package

install.packages("jrvFinance")

Meanwhile someone develops an economics extension for KNIME. I’ve coded an R Snippet, that can handle multi project IRR calculation from Cash Flows.

20211027_IRR_calculation.knwf (13.5 KB)

I didn’t put to much attention on error handling, so consider it as a DRAFT

I hope you find it helpful. BR

3 Likes

Hello @TobiLanga ,