Read XSD and generate control table - demo – KNIME Community Hub

Demonstration workflow for KNIME XML Generator Components.

This is a companion discussion topic for the original entry at https://hub.knime.com/-/spaces/-/latest/~aKi1R5HoVLUP-v-d/

I have a hard time generating a control table for a complex xml file ( No surprise - I’m a noob)
The end goal is to generate an xml payment file to upload to our bank that will initiate the transfer of money from us (Debtor) to a beneficiary (Creditor)/

The bank has provided the attached XSD and sample file.

Could you please run it through your workflow and give me hint?
One issue I think is they use the same tag name for different purposes. Like is used for the Dbtr ID, Crtr ID, DbtrAgent ID, etc
Bank schema as txt.xsd.txt (43.7 KB)
Sample payment file as txt.xml.txt (5.1 KB)

Hi @hlombard , thank you for your interest in the XML generator components. The aim of them is to be able to produce a “control file” which the different components can then use to turn your input data into the required xml.

It’s been a while since I last looked at this, so hopefully I get it right. :wink:

So, what I have done so far is taken your xsd file and read that in with the XML Reader which passed it to the Create XML Generator Control Table From XSD component.

The purpose of this component is to use the XSD to evaluate the structure of the XML document, and create the structural parts of the control table (the bits that say which XML element is a parent/child of other XML elements and so on)

The next step would be to put sample XML into the lower XML Reader which will then pass it to the Create XML Generator Data Map Table from XML component