Reading Microsoft Access Database

I’m new to Knime and am having trouble opening a MS Access Database file of type “mdb”. I’m using the Database Reader component. The Database driver is the default – “sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver”. I cannot seem to create a Database URL that works. I’ve tried the pathname to the target file. Also, I have tried things like jdbc:odbc:. I always get an error indicating that either the driver won’t accept the url or a “datasource name too long” message.

Surely this is a simple thing to do – I do it in java code all of the time:) Can anybody help me get on track?

This is a windows 7 machine.

Thanks in advance,
Lyle

Hi Lyle, the comment in this thread will guide you how to read data from a Microsoft Access Database. Best, Thomas

Hi Lyle, the comment in this thread will guide you how to read data from a Microsoft Access Database. Best, Thomas

Thanks Thomas, this is very helpful.
Lyle

Hi Thomas,

The thread doesn't seem to work any more. I have a similar need and would like to see how it is done.

Barry

Hi Barry,

Sorry for the dead link; my original post is attached here:

In order to access a MS Access data source, you need to register your database with the ODBC Data Source Administrator, see http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms188691.aspx for details. During the configuration of your MS Access data source, you will be asked to define a Data Source Name. This unique ID is then used within KNIME's Database Reader dialog to access the MS Access database. Select the standard JDBC-ODBC driver and enter the URL to your registered the database as jdbc:odbc:YOUR_ID, enter user name and password, if specified, and edit the SQL statement as a last step.

Alternatively, you can use the following syntax to access the MS Access database directly: jdbc:odbc:DRIVER={Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb, *.accdb)};DBQ=C:\\Database.accdb

Regards, Thomas

I tried the second approach and it worked. Thank you!!

Hi Thomas,