Regex Parsing - How??

HI All

So firslty, i’m new to Knime, and i am coming form teh perspective of an Alteryx power user.
So i while on teh face of it, it appears Knime can do most of what Alteryx can do, certain really simple things are very difficult. Whether this is a nomenclature issue (node naming etc…) or simply missing features i am as yet unsure. I’m hoping that the good people in here can help point me in the right direction and help me get over my learning curve.

I am trying to do something simple.

I have a file full or urls and i need to extract a list of all the query keys found.

I am using the regex split node to extract the query keys using regex tried and tested on regex101

Now in Alteryx i simply use a regex tool set to parse, enter the string below and it automatically parses each capture group into a column.
(?[^=]+)(&[^=]+)

In knime i get a mysterious warning message: 1589 input string(s) did not match the pattern or contained more groups than expected

Can anyone decipher or point me in the right direction?

thanks

Gavin

Hi Gavin,

which node you are using with your regex?
could you provide an example Workflow with the regex and node configuration you are using including an url which results in this error?
The URL does not have to be real :slight_smile:

You can look here

Also, for switching for Alterix

4 Likes

Also check out this thread:

2 Likes

HI.
Here is an example workflow. Thanks

Extract Queries.knwf (7.8 KB)

Thanks, i’ll have a look at the book.
Checked out the other topic link too. The whole point of tools like this is that they should offer uncomplicated ways to carry out this sort of thing, to have to learn Ruby to do a simple regex to column parse seems to defeat the point.

Using the Regex Extractor from Palladian this is quite easy (simple proof of concept with your data) :slight_smile:

I used the following regular expression:

[?&](?<key>[^?&=]+)=(?<value>[^?&=]+)

The modified workflow is on my NodePit Space: