String Manipulation (Multi-Column) - Conditional Formatting

Hi everyone!

Complete noob here, I hope this crowd is nicer than stackoverflow’s lol,

In short I’m trying to learn Knime bit by bit ,

I started by using it to reformat a simple excel table, I was using it mainly for one task:

• Ensuring that all sentences of a specific column had a full stop at the end.

I used the following nodes and then tried this expression:
=REPLACE(LOWER(C3);1;1;UPPER(LEFT(C3;1)))

This worked out pretty well but I had two issues:

• Some of the cells had already a full stop at the end of their strings, so now they were doubled.

• Some of the cells were empty, and now they were populated by a dot.

I then attempted the following expression:

• join($$CURRENTCOLUMN$$,
  • if(and(not(isMissing($$CURRENTCOLUMN$$)),
  • not(endsWith($$CURRENTCOLUMN$$, “.”)))
  • , “.”
  • , “”))

And got this error message:

Im now blocked and a bit lost, any kind soul would like to help me out?

Hi @KaboboJakobo , the String Manipulation (Multi Column) node doesn’t have the and, not, if etc statements that you are trying to use. It does however contain the ability to incorprate the functions listed within the node, along with some java constructs for conditions

Your code to add a full stop (period for those using US English :wink: ) where it isn’t already present, would be:

join($$CURRENTCOLUMN$$,
	$$CURRENTCOLUMN$$!=null && !($$CURRENTCOLUMN$$.endsWith("."))
	?"."
	:""
)

(edited as we can in fact use the java endsWith() method on a String column, which I hadn’t previously considered :wink: )

So:

Your Construct String Manipulation equivalent
isMissing(x) x==null
not(isMissing(x)) x!=null
not(x ) !(x )
and(x,y) x && y
if(x,y,z) x?y:z
endsWith(x,y) x.endsWith(y)

Additional info on String Manipulation’s “undocumented” features