Workflow Help needed!

Hello Everyone, I’m new to knime and have been struggling with extracting certain data from a Bach of pdf files that then need to be exported to excel. The data from each file extracted has to then be matched with the file it came from when exporting to excel.
So far I’ve created a workflow using tika parser, string manipulator, row filter and excel writer but it’s not giving me clean results. I have attached a picture of one of the pages in the pdf file. I want to extract full name I marked in red and address. All the pages and files are the same format.

[Image removed per user request - ScottF]

@NabilEnn you could try and take a look at the Python package Camelot to extract information from pdf tables and documents:

1 Like

Hello thank you for the reply, so this invoice can not be done without python? All I need is the information I marked out in red. It’s in the same location for every page and file.

@NabilEnn there can be several ways. One is using R

And there was a challenge to extract information.

Is it possible to provide some examples maybe without sensitive data?

1 Like

Okay I see, I don’t know ho to use the R node. Well yes this is just an example. I need to be able extract names and addresses from any location of the page. Sometimes there’s a “name:” in front of the name but sometimes there isn’t. I need to figure out which node will show me the rows of a page and then I can possibly choose which row of text in the page I can extract from? In this case I’d want whatever rows have the name and address in this invoice.

Note: when I choose these type of files through tika parser. It puts all the data all in one column, the content column. Could I use column splitter and try and use a delimiter to split the lines of text. Any insight on what delimiter I could use? And then what other node could I use to then choose what row I want to extract